Workforce Essentials is proud to offer certified and state-approved drivers education courses in Tennessee. We offer classes in Montgomery, Robertson, and Dickson Counties. So far we’ve helped more than 17,000 Tennessee drivers learn the ways of the road. In this article, we’ll discuss more of the nitty-gritty of our driver’s education classes for teens and young adults. 

What Should I Expect From Workforce Essentials’ Driver’s Ed Training?

For traditional high school-age driving classes, students can expect 30 hours of quality classroom instruction and training. Then, where the rubber meets the road, is the 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training. You’ll be driving with one of our instructors in one of our customized driver education cars, fitted with extra controls for your instructor.

Your instructor will help you get familiar with driving on all types of roads, from rural two-lane roads to the highways and interstates.

Is Driving For The First Time Scary?

A lot of new drivers feel scared the first time they get behind the wheel. Fear and anxiety around driving can be hard to manage, but our instructors can schedule your first driving session during a low-traffic hour to help you get used to being on the road.

We’ll also practice in parking lots so you can get comfortable driving before you ever start driving on the road.

How Long Does It Take You To Finish Driver’s Ed?

A graphic of cars surrounding the title "driving school"

For classroom instruction, students have the option of completing 4 days of class time over the course of a week or a month. Classes are 8 hours long, with a 1-hour break for lunch, so be prepared for a full-day commitment.

We only offer weekday classes during certain times of the year when school is out so students have time to take the class.

If you can’t do the course during the week, you can sign up for our Saturday classes, and be done with the course after four weeks.

As for driving hours, they will be scheduled separately.

What Will I Have To Know To Pass Driver’s Ed?

Topics covered in the Tennessee state-approved drivers education course include the following.

  • How Car Insurance Works
  • What to do after an accident
  • Saftey for driving at night
  • What the markings on the road mean
  • The meaning of road signs
  • How to handle driving in inclement weather
  • How to brake properly in icy or snowy conditions
  • The laws around passing cyclists on the road
  • The dangers of drinking and driving
  • DUI law
  • How to handle driving emergencies
  • The dangers of distracted driving
  • How to share the road safely
  • Changing lanes safely
  • How to navigate intersections and stoplights
  • Tennessee driver laws
  • How to maintain a safe vehicle
  • And much more!

What Will I Have To Know To Pass Driver’s Ed?

A teen learning to back into a parking space

If you’re learning to drive for the first time, you don’t necessarily have to take a driver’s education class. However, our driver’s education classes are perfect opportunities to learn everything you need to know to pass your driving test.

But, you should know that to get your learner’s permit in Tennessee, you’ll have to pass a Class D knowledge test. And our courses are the easiest way to learn everything you need to know.

What Else Do I Need To Get A Learner’s Permit In Tennessee?

A teen behind the wheel on the first day of driving lessons.
  • You need to be 15 years of age or older
  • You must pass a vision screening test
  • You must have the following documents with you
    • Proof of school attendance or progress (for drivers under 18)
    • Certificate of 50 Hours Behind the Wheel Driving Experience (SF-1256)
    • Proof of citizenship or Legal Presence
    • Proof of name changes (if any)
    • Proof of Tennessee residency
    • Your full social security number, or proof thereof

Finally, if you’re under the age of 18, you’ll need a parent or guardian present to sign a minor/teenage affidavit and financial responsibility form.

How To Convince My Parents To Let Me Start Driver’s Training?

Driving is a big responsibility. Almost every American adult relies on their ability to drive to help them get to work, get food, and enjoy life. But, driving comes with some serious risks, like severe injuries and even death.

If you want to show your parents that you’re responsible enough to start learning how to drive, start by learning Tennessee’s driving rules and driver’s license requirements. If you found this article on your own, you could even show your parents the benefits of taking driver’s education classes with Workforce Essentials.

Tennessee offers a graduated driver’s license program that allows you to ease into the full responsibilities of being a driver. At the earliest levels, the program encourages and requires new drivers to get supervised driving experience as they progress through the levels of licensing.

You’ll start with a learner permit, then progress to an intermediate restricted license, and then an intermediate unrestricted license, before you are eligible for a graduated driver’s license.

Learn More About Tennessee’s Graduated Driver License Program

How To Deal With Drivers Ed Anxiety?

The first time you get behind the wheel, you might feel a good deal of anxiety. Even before your first driving appointment, you could be feeling major anxiety.

The unknown is one of the biggest drivers of anxiety, so hopefully, the classroom hours will help you know what to expect when you start driving. You can also talk to trusted family members and friends about what’s worrying you about driving for the first time. They can help you process your fears so that when the day comes you know how to respond.

Also, rest assured that on your first day of driving, your instructor will encourage you to take things slow so you can get comfortable behind the wheel.

Do I Have To Retake Driver’s Ed If My Learner’s Permit Expires?

Because Tennessee does not require driving students to complete a driver’s education course before getting their learner’s permit, you do not need to retake the class if your permit expires.

Can I Get A Permit Before Driving School?

So long as you meet the requirements, pass the knowledge test, and provide the correct documentation it is possible to get a permit before you take a driver’s training course.

How To Make Learning In Driver’s Ed More Enjoyable

A teen guy feeling confident driving

Like with any class, it starts with your attitude. Come to class ready to learn and be willing to help other people learn too! Make sure you’ve done your homework so you can feel confident about answering questions that your teacher might ask. 

Also, remember you’re learning to drive! That’s a pretty exciting step!

Does Driver’s Ed Teach You How To Drive A Stick Shift?

Sadly, with the advent of automatic transmissions, our courses no longer cover how to drive a stick shift.

Does Driver’s Ed Teach Hand Signals?

When driving conditions are bad, or when your blinker isn’t working, you’ll need to know how to use hand signals. Our courses cover this basic road safety training.

Day 1 Tips For New Drivers

Picture this:

The day has come and you’re sitting behind the steering wheel, ready to officially drive for the first time. You might feel a weight on your shoulders. You wait to take the wheel until your instructor gets in the car. Butterflies leap in your stomach as your passenger closes the car door and you hear:

“Alright, let’s get started.”

Just like you learned in class, you put your hands on the upper third of the wheel, shifting them around until they rest at 9 and 3. The car was turned on and parked when you got in; your instructor turns it off but leaves the key in the ignition. They turn to you and tell you it’s time to start the car.

Alright, you might not be as nervous on your first-day driving, but a lot of new drivers can be. Use these tips to help you take the wheel!

  • Take a deep breath
  • Relax your arms
  • Start slow
  • Talk with your instructor; let them know you feel nervous
  • Adjust the seat and mirrors so you can see properly
  • Turn off the radio and remove other distractions

Is Driver’s Ed Worth It For My Child?

Yes, it will be worth it for your child to take driver’s ed classes. It really does pay off in the long run! When teens graduate from an accredited driver’s training program, it helps reduce car insurance premiums. After all, insurance companies love having safe drivers!

On top of that, students who take a driving course are less likely to get in accidents. So you’ll not have to worry about paying for extra damages or repairs.

What Are Driving Lessons Like?

Your first day of driving is a big day, so here’s what you can expect:

As you and your instructor get in the car, you’ll review the basics of how to operate your vehicle. You should expect to check your mirrors–a lot. Your instructor will remind you from time to time to help you get used to checking your mirrors.

Your instructor might brake for you if you don’t hit the brakes soon enough. Remember what you learned in driving school and keep at least two seconds’ distance between you and the cars in front of you so you can brake safely.

As the lessons continue and you get more comfortable, your instructor will take you into heavier traffic and rush hour traffic to help you get used to driving during these busy times. 

Also, feel free to ask your instructor any questions. They’re there to help you! Especially since you can’t open a book or review your class notes while you’re driving.

Join a Tennessee Driver’s Ed Class with Workforce Essentials

Hopefully, this article has helped you learn more about what you can expect with one of our driving courses. We also hope that you feel more prepared to start learning how to drive. Click the link below to find and join one of our courses today.