Board LogoAs you are aware, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act began on July 1, 2015.  As part of the implementation process, our local County Mayors and Executives in LWDA 8 were required to appointment members to the Workforce Board to provide guidance and oversight.

The purpose of WIOA is to better align the workforce system with education and economic development in an effort to create a collective response to economic and labor market challenges on the national, state, and local levels.

workforce-innovation-and-opportunity-actThe law stipulates that the Workforce Boards will maintain much of the same structures under WIA with the exception that the number of required members would be reduced producing more efficient and strategic board size.

Minimum membership under WIOA is nineteen members as follows:

(10) Business Representatives (51%), including the Chair, (4) Labor Representatives (20%),(1) Adult Education/Literacy Representative,(1) Vocational Rehabilitation Representative,(1) Higher Education, Representative, (1) Wagner-Peyser Representative, (1) Economic Development Representative

Keeping with the directive to reduce the Board size, the Mayors and Executives in LWDA 8 have obtained nominations and appointed 20 members to carry out the responsibilities under WIOA. The new Board will be meeting for the first time in September. We welcome them and look forward to their guidance and oversight of WIOA programs and services. As a footnote, we anticipate that several of the WIA Board members will be appointed to standing committees to assist in ongoing workforce initiatives.

Our LWDB members are listed below: *Private Sector Members

John Alexander TN Department of Labor and Workforce Development Manager  
Bobby Emery Nashville Electrical JATC Training Director  
Ted Faulkner Transition Center/ Retirement Services Officer Chief  
Jerry Faulkner Volunteer State              Community College President  
Rodney Good Ironworkers Local Union 492 Business Manager  
Angie Hedge* Hood Container              Corporation Human Resources Manager Humphreys County
Jimmy Johnston Forward Sumner County President and CEO  
David Kirkland Clarksville Fire Fighters      Local 3180 President  
Karyl Kirkland* Agero Human Resources Montgomery County
Kimberly Meade* Dal-Tile Sr. Human Resources Manager Dickson County
Michael Moeller* True Value Hardware Vice President Williamson County
Tim Ness* Cool Café Owner Williamson County
Mark Peed* Peed Family Associates, LLC Owner Stewart County
David Smith* DBS & Associates Engineering, Inc. President Montgomery County
Kristi Spurgeon* Chemours Human Resources Consultant Houston County
Arrita Summers TN College of Applied Technology – Dickson Ed.D., Director  
Virginia Talley TN Rehabilitation Center Manager/ Supervisor  
Randy Walker* AttaBoy Automation, Inc. President and Owner Cheatham County
Kim Walker* Northcrest Medical HR Director Robertson County
John Zobl* Betty Machine Company President and CEO Sumner County